New Year’s Resolutions of a Darling Bibliophile

It’s (unbelievably to me) 2014. This means a few things – I’ve been living on the mainline for over four months, I successfully completed my first semester of graduate school (straight A’s, go me!), and I’m that much closer to graduation. And of course it’s time to make some resolutions. I am a firm believer in the “new year, fresh start” ideal. So what are the resolutions I’ve laid out for myself in 2014? Being the indecisive woman that I am, I made a list of several.  Here goes:

1. Read 100 books in 2014. This one is an easy resolution to at least attempt to keep. I didn’t keep track of how many books I read last year; in fact, I only recently made a Goodreads account. However, between books I’ll be reading for class, for pleasure, and galleys for work, I’m pretty confident I can make it to 100 by the end of the year.

2. Go to yoga at least 3x a week. I’m being pretty lenient on myself with this resolution. I already regularly attend yoga twice a week, so tacking on another day will not be that much of a stretch (no pun intended). It also doesn’t hurt that the yoga studio I attend is around the corner from my apartment. I like to schedule myself for each class so that I have a commitment I cannot back out on. So far, I’ve gone every day this week, including Sunday, a candlelit Vinyasa which was my FAVORITE class ever. Side resolution: Have a proper arm balance by the end of the year.

3. Practice forgiveness. That means forgiveness of others, but also forgiveness of myself. 2013 held a lot of negativity for me, between being unable to let go of old memories and hurt, broken friendships, and making mistakes of my own. In order to continue my personal growth and journey to living a positive life, I truly must forgive myself and others to be free of the control which grudges and negativity hold over me. Along these lines, I am resolving to treat myself better. I feel that we don’t give ourselves enough credit, and I often find that I’m punishing myself for something I messed up and ignoring my small accomplishments rather than celebrating them. More celebration, less punishment in 2014.

4. Write more. I have all these plans – plans for this blog, plans as a blogger professionally, and plans as a writer. But none of them will ever happen if I don’t actually sit down to write. So I resolve to write more in 2014 – journaling, blogging on here, submitting my blogs, and writing my story.

5. Try new foods (and re-try foods I disliked in the past). I am a notoriously picky eater. When I was younger, my mom would have to special order grilled cheese sandwiches for me at McDonald’s because I literally would not eat anything there except for fries. The pickiness continued with me into my adult life – I  don’t eat seafood; I will not eat steak or most red meat (tacos, meatballs, and the occasional cheeseburger are my only exceptions); I eat only white meat chicken; there is a laundry-list of dishes that I stay away from completely. I mean, I just started eating salad, and even that is a rare occasion. So I’ve resolved to try (almost) everything again, and you know what ? Cherry tomatoes aren’t so bad the second time around.

That’s what I came up with. Have you looked inwardly at yourself to resolve to do things differently in 2014?

Leave a Reply

